T-Minus 2 days…

Tuesday, September 21st 2010

My flight leaves for Ethiopia in less than 48 hours. I think my head is going to explode. My heart is pounding. My mom is frantically trying to pack 4,000 things I will probably never need into a duffel bag the size of my car.  I brought enough deodorant and advil for the next century. Regardless, I fully anticipate being sick and smelling like curry for the better part of the next two years.

I said my first goodbye’s last night. It was tougher than I thought.

I will miss my family. I will miss my relatives as well (shout out to my cousins) . I will miss all my friends something awful– the 1161 boys, the hills crew–and definitely Jennings, Hawkins, and the Deane family.

Saying bye to my mom and dad will break their hearts. Saying bye to my girlfriend will break my heart. She’s a lot prettier than I am. (and smarter too…she designed this blog)

The craziest part of all of this is how little I know about what I will be doing. I will be working as a business adviser in the resource management and tourism sector.  I train for three months near the capital city before being placed. Hopefully, I will be in a place like this:

http://www.canyonsworldwide.com/africa/pages/simien.htm

I will finish this post with a couple of goals I have for my trip:

1. To do some good for some people who deserve it

2. To better understand whats important.

3. To grow closer to my girlfriend, even though I’m half the world away

4. To leave the places I travel to with a better understanding of myself and to leave a bit of myself in those places that I travel to  (See how I did that?)

5. To play soccer with some Africans. I’m really excited about a few particular items I packed: A soccer pump and 5 deflated soccer balls–to give as gifts to the kids in the community I live in. I will be posting my address soon…if (when) you send me a care package, include a cheap deflated soccer ball.

6. And finally, and most importantly, to share with the 3rd world the amazing talents of Justin Beiber

Now, start planning your next vacation for Ethiopia. Bring socks, soccer balls, and my girlfriend with you.

2 comments on “T-Minus 2 days…

  1. Alisha says:

    I have a suitcase that I fit in I think that Carly would have heaps of room! Can’t wait to hear about all your adventures!

    Love you
    Alisha

  2. Dad says:

    WOW!
    Waid’s World is so very well written. You paint great pictures with your words! A few questions: What doyou do when everybody else is drinking coffee? Are there other Peace corps volunteers in the Village? What about the host dad? You are doing well with the kids, what about with the adults? Is it true Ethiopians are the most beautiful looking people in the world? When can you send pictures? Are you an Carly able to connect? Recently posted DADs should bring you up to speed. Hope Guenaye and you connect so you get our presents. Skins are 2-2 and play tough Greenbay. Caps start Friday. Stay well. Be safe. Stay connected.

Leave a Reply

