One Mans Trash

I’ll tell you a little bit about my roommates. I live on a compound, three large buildings carved up into smaller rooms. The three buildings are in the process of a large renovation, as the mud and stick exterior is replaced with concrete. Hopefully this will cut down on the rat population. So I share my home with 12 Ethiopians, said rodents, and a host of other animals. Our cat just gave birth to 4 more kittens and I witnessed our cow give birth the other night. That was a sight to see. There are 3 dogs, and one of them is awesome. It is in the process of teething and I decided it needed a toy other than my foot.

I have the remarkable ability to ruin a good pair of socks, especially here. Whether it is sports or simply losing them in the washing machine, I have become quite accomplished. One might ask, “but how do you lose socks in the laundry when there is no washing machine, and you do your laundry by hand?” I would likely respond to that person that they should stop asking questions and being a smartass.

So I had one pair of socks that were entirely ruined – my basketball socks. They were, once upon a time, white. They had a series of holes, including ones around the toe (the worst) and were what I would call crunchy. So I stuffed one inside the other with some yarn and other junk, added some peanut butter, tied it up and gave the dog its very first toy.

So now that I’ve completely wasted your time, I’ll get to the point. Three days after the toy was made, I saw my socks again. They were on the feet of my neighbor.

2 comments on “One Mans Trash

  1. […] I’ll tell you a little bit about my roommates. I live on a compound, three large buildings carved up into smaller rooms. The three buildings are in the process of a large renovation, as the mud and stick exterior is replaced with concrete. Hopefully this will cut down on the rat population. So I share my home with 12 Ethiopians, said rodents, and a host of other animals. Our cat just gave birth to 4 more kittens and I witnessed our cow give birth … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

